Skip to main content
All CollectionsCompliance and security
Yousign & the eIDAS Regulation
Yousign & the eIDAS Regulation
Ferdinand avatar
Written by Ferdinand
Updated over a week ago

📖 Table of contents

How does the European eIDAS Regulation ensure the identification of a person?

The European eIDAS Regulation, adopted in 2014 and applicable throughout the European Union since 2016, is the cornerstone of national regulations on electronic identification and trust services. The eIDAS Regulation defines the rules for using an electronic signature and the conditions for its legal recognition.

The eIDAS Regulation makes it possible to identify trust services offering qualified solutions with real legal value, such as Yousign. The legal value of these solutions is recognised throughout Europe.

👉 For more information, click here.

What is a trust service?

In order to create a climate of trust in electronic exchanges and enhance legal certainty, the European eIDAS Regulation has defined the concept of “trust service” (Article 3 of the eIDAS Regulation). It is an electronic service normally provided for remuneration consisting of: (a) the creation, verification, and validation of electronic signatures, electronic seals, or electronic time stamps, electronic registered delivery services, and certificates related to those services; or (b) the creation, verification, and validation of certificates for website authentication; or (c) the preservation of electronic signatures, seals, or certificates related to those services.

For each trust service, there are two statuses: qualified and non-qualified.

The qualified status must meet many strict conditions enshrined in the eIDAS Regulation (in particular, strong security and extended liability) and supervised by a national supervisory body. In addition, an audit of the provider is required every two years.

Qualified trust services, such as those provided by Yousign, are recognised by all the Member States. The full list of trust services is published by the European Commission here.

What is the difference between certification and qualification?

A certification is issued by a certifying body (LSTI for Yousign). Certification ensures that the company complies with the ETSI standards for electronic signature, electronic seal, and electronic time stamps. Compliance with the cited standards presumes compliance with the requirements of the eIDAS Regulation. Yousign’s list of standards is available here, and our certifications are available here.

The qualification is issued by a supervisory body (in France, the French National Agency for the Security of Information Systems). The qualification makes the provider eligible to join the European Commission’s list of qualified trust service providers. Qualified trust services, such as those provided by Yousign, are recognised by all the Member States.

Where can I view Yousign’s certifications?

Our certifications of compliance with ETSI standards issued under the eIDAS Regulation are available here.

Is it mandatory to use qualified trust service providers located in the United Kingdom?

No, the qualification of trust services extends to all providers that comply with European legislation. It is therefore possible for a French, Italian, or German company to use the services of a provider established in another EU country.

What is the legal value of my signature in other European countries?

The eIDAS Regulation sets the rules for the use and legal recognition of the electronic signature processes of EU member states. As a trust service provider, Yousign complies with this regulation and therefore appears in the European Commission’s list of trust service providers available here.

As such, Yousign’s e-signature is recognised in all EU member countries.

What is the difference between an electronic signature and an electronic seal?

According to the eIDAS Regulation, the electronic seal is reserved for legal persons (local authorities, public institutions, private companies, etc.), while the electronic signature is dedicated to natural persons.

👉 For more information, click here.

Did this answer your question?